Returning to the Blogosphere

I was skeptical about returning. In some ways, I don’t think I fit into the realm of blogs anymore. It isn’t that I don’t like writing anymore, because it’s still a passion with me. All the same, I’ve become somewhat detached from the internet all together. My time online has decreased to two hours a day, sometimes just a smidgen more than that. Some things happened this last summer that changed me both emotionally and intellectually. My perspective of life has been altered. Yet, undeterred by those events, my passion for writing has sustained. Perhaps the need to connect with others more will return to me, so here I am writing gibberish on my blog again.

There were times during the last months, days upon days, when I didn’t write at all. During those stretches, I questioned what the point was in the practice of writing because I have yet to publish anything other than what I put on this blog. Even at that, I don’t have a large following. In fact, the list is trifling. Eventually, it dawned on me that the purposes of my blog has been for me, at least should be. It shouldn’t be for the followers. Some blogs are for the followers, and I’m one of those people in some instances. I’m glad that the authors are there plugging along at their articles so I can learn. Nevertheless, mine just has the purpose of letting me write so I can evaluate how I am doing with the skill. If the few followers I have, choose to comment, I’m grateful for the feedback.

I know I’ve written all this before in some form here on this blog, and with the utmost in good intentions. Yet, I also know I swayed from those objectives with the thought that I had to amplify my scope and draw more followers to my blog. After rereading a few of the posts from my favorite blog authors, I realized that they were keeping their list of topics small, and, instead, expanding their perspective of those subjects. That is what I should have been doing. And even at that, I should be doing it for my benefit, not the benefit of the reader.

Does this sound selfish? I doubt that it sounds like anything else. What I’m shooting for is to bring back the soul and compassion I used to have in my writing. It seems to me readers would enjoy my posts more if I did this.

During the next six to eight weeks, I’ll be re-categorizing and re-tagging most of my posts of the past. Hopefully by doing this, you, as a reader, will more easily find what you’re looking for, if anything. I don’t know how many will end up in the category of “uncategorized” yet.

I am a writer. I may not be well-skilled, polished, or even decent at the craft, but I am persistent. Until, at least, the first of the new year, I’ll be posting once a month. If you’re interested in what I write, I hope you’ll choose to follow me.


“You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.”
― Maya Angelou

18 thoughts on “Returning to the Blogosphere

  1. Hello Glynis. Welcome back to the blogging world and it is lovely to see you. Thank you for being so honest about blogging and writing – and you are very courageous to do so. Writing especially is not an easy journey. There will be challenges along the way on expressing thoughts through writing – and it can be an up and down journey. Like Dan said, you aren’t selfish. You can’t please everyone and not everyone will agree with your writing. Writing for yourself is always such a liberating feeling. I hope you find your passion and enthusiasm for writing again. Been following you for a few years and always admired your honesty. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Glynis, Oh I can so relate to your honest and thoughtful post in so many ways. I’ve just posted on my blog after a gap of about three months (family stuff going on) and when the urge came, it was for me to sort out some thoughts and connect with a few followers again. You are so right, blogging is for oneself, but I don’t view it as selfish because readers can connect and gain insights or reassurances from your themes and concerns – like me! Some time ago, I also recategorised my posts, which like yours vary. I also have been somewhat disillusioned with social media recently, but keep my toes in the water without diving in and being up to my neck in it so to speak. When I began blogging I noticed those who stuck to one theme , let’s say the biggie one of writing and writing advice, I knew there were so many I didn’t want to be one of them. I also didn’t want to be restricted, but they do get the larger following. In the end I thought, well I’ll do it my way, choose my own themes, whatever comes up to share. We’re all in a state of flow. Blog first for you, then people who appreciate you will find you :>)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so nice to have an alike soul comment. Thank you, Lynne.

      Although some of my posts—a little more than 50% will be about the writing craft, I don’t think I’ll be giving out writing advice. I don’t think I’m qualified for that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Personally I think what you enjoy and love writing about is good for the reader. That often comes through in ones writing. Welcome back Glynis. I look forward to reading more of your writing ✍️ 🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am hoping the readers like what I post, AP2, but I’m not going to focus on that very much this time in hopes my writing become clearer and something I won’t cring at. Thanks for the welcome. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s good to see a post from you again, Glynis. You are not being selfish – this is your blog and you should absolutely be writing it for you. You can’t predict what your readers will like. If you try to play to them, you will attract a very narrow segment of the people that are out there. Write what you like, and let the growth happen organically among people who like what your blog represents – you.

    I have followed you for years. I appreciate and I am impressed by your honesty, your self-awareness and your ability to share what you’ve learned. Keep it up.

    Liked by 2 people

Please leave your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.